Forward into the 21st Century

19th March 2012 19:00
Kings Place
90 York Way, N1 9AG
Poet in the City and The Forward Arts Foundation celebrated the 20th anniversary of the Forward Prizes.

Showcasing the very best of contemporary poetry, these awards are among the most important and respected poetry accolades in the UK.

Hosted by William Sieghart, creator and long time supporter of the Forward Prizes for Poetry, the event featured previous winners and will be a unique poetic route map into the 21st century;

Seamus Heaney is one of the leading poets of his generation. He has twice won the Whitbread Book of the Year, for The Spirit Level (1996) and Beowulf (1999). In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. District and Circle (2006) was awarded the T. S. Eliot Prize. In 2010 he was awarded Forward Prize for Best Collection for Human Chain;

Sebastian Faulks was a Forward Prize judge in 2006. He is best known for the French trilogy, The Girl at the Lion d’Or, Birdsong and Charlotte Gray (1989-1997) and is also the author of a triple biography, The Fatal Englishman (1996);

Jackie Kay’s first book of poetry The Adoption Papers (1991) is an emotional account of her early life. More recently, she is the author of Red Dust Road (2010) and Fiere (2011 - both Picador). She won the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in its inaugural year, 1992;

Hilary Menos (Berg) and Rachael Boast (Sidereal) won the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, in 2010 and 2011 respectively.

Founded in 1991 The Forward Arts Foundation (FAF) is one of the UK‘s foremost supporters of the literary arts. The Foundation is fuelled by an ambition to transform the image of poetry in the public sphere. The Foundation does this through three key activities: the Forward Prizes for Poetry, National Poetry Day and Winning Words.
Poet in the City Menu